Medical Software Industry Association hold CEO Forum and AGM in Darling Harbour

The Medical Software Industry Association’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) and second CEO Forum for 2010 were held in early September at iSOFT’s offices in Darling Harbour. With around 80 member companies represented at the meeting, the MSIA believe this year’s AGM was the most well attended in the association’s history. The association’s representative base has grown dramatically since the appointment of a CEO in 2009, with over 100 medical software companies now MSIA members.

The AGM proper was preceded by a series of technical presentations covering themes including the Healthcare Identifier Service, Compliance, Conformance and Accreditation (CCA), and Integrating the Healthcare Enterprise (IHE).

Following a brief presentation, Peter Fleming (CEO) and David Gonski (Chair) of the National E-Health Transition Authority (NEHTA) took questions from the floor for an extended period of time, followed by presentations by Matt Young and Matt Corkhill from Medicare Australia.

The Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering provided some insights from their recent publication “Smart Tech for Health Longevity” and reviewed the business opportunities presented by incorporating the data from a range of real time patient sensoring technologies into the medical record. Such technologies are expected to extend independent living arrangements for older patients.

Don Easter, who was appointed to the newly created position of IT Supplier Advocate earlier in the year by Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research, Kim Carr, gave an overview of his role, which entails helping Small and Medium Sized Enterprises win government contracts.

The AGM elections saw the office holders re-elected unopposed, with Geoffrey Sayer (HealthLink) to continue as President. Dr Vincent McCauley (McCauley Software), Jenny O’Neil (EpiSoft) and Gavan Lim Joon (Healthscope) were returned as Treasurer, Secretary and Public Officer respectively.

In addition to the executive, the MSIA membership elected seven committee members, namely Ross Davey (DCA), Margaret Gehrig (MIMS), John Green (Corum), Emma Hossack (Extensia), Jon Hughes (Smart Health), Byron Phillips (iSOFT) and Glenn Stevens (Medical Objects).

The Andrew Magennis Award for Service and Leadership in the healthcare software industry was awarded to Dr Vincent McCauley and John Green, each of whom received an equal amount of votes from the MSIA membership.

In a statement released after the event, Dr Sayer acknowledged the long running service provided by these winners to the industry, saying “Both of these individuals have done — and do — so much for our industry and are deserved winners.”

The MSIA also took the opportunity to recognise its past presidents and Mike Maldon, an inaugural MSIA committee member and recent retiree from the medical software industry. Past presidents Ross Davey, Dr John Ainge, Dr Andrew Magennis, Paul Doman and Dr Vincent McCauley were in attendance and were presented with plaques, with the presidential contributions of Tony Firth and Ian Threlfall also acknowledged.

Posted in Australian eHealth

You need to log in to post comments. If you don't have a Pulse+IT website account, click here to subscribe.

Sign up for Pulse+IT eNewsletters

Sign up for Pulse+IT website access

For more information, click here.

Copyright © 2022 Pulse+IT Communications Pty Ltd
No content published on this website can be reproduced by any person for any reason without the prior written permission of the publisher.
Supported by Social Media Agency | pepperit